# McGILL UNIVERSITY BOARD OF GOVERNORS



# **Report of the Nominating, Governance and Ethics Committee** GD15-07

Board of Governors meeting of October 8, 2015

#### Secretariat

845 Sherbrooke St. West, room 313 Montreal, QC, H3A 0G4 Tel: (514) 398-3948 | Fax: (514) 398-4758

The following items arise from the Nominating, Governance and Ethics Committee meeting of September 16, 2015 and an electronic vote of August 7, 2015. They are presented to the Board of Governors for its consideration.

Stephen Strople Secretary-General October 2015

#### I. FOR APPROVAL BY THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

#### 1. Appointments to Board Standing Committees

The Nominating, Governance and Ethics Committee reviewed the status of appointments on all Board standing Committees. Based on its review of committee assignments and consultations carried out with Committee Chairs and Board Committee members, the NGE Committee is recommending the following reappointments and appointments:

Be it resolved that the Board of Governors, on the recommendation of, the Nominating, Governance and Ethics Committee, approve the following:

# [With respect to the Audit Committee]:

The reappointment of **Ms. Maarika Paul** as a member of the general public on the Audit Committee for a three-year term starting January 1<sup>st</sup>, 2016 and ending December 31, 2018;

The reappointment of **Mr. Stephen Halperin** as a member of the Audit Committee for a two-year term starting July 1<sup>st</sup>, 2016 and ending June 30, 2018, to coincide with the end of his current term on the Board of Governors;

# [With respect to the Building and Property Committee]:

The reappointment of **Mr. Cameron Charlebois** as a member of the general public on the Building and Property Committee for a three-year term starting January 1<sup>st</sup>, 2016 and ending December 31, 2018;

The reappointment of **Mr. Bryan Haynes** as a member of the Building and Property Committee for a two-year term starting January 1, 2016 and ending December 31, 2017, to coincide with the end of his term on the Board of Governors;

The reappointment of **Mr. Peter Coughlin** as a member and Chair of the Building and Property Committee for a three-year term starting July 1<sup>st</sup>, 2016 and ending June 30, 2019;

# [With respect to the Committee to Advise on Matters of Social Responsibility]:

The appointment of Mr. Ram Panda as a member of the Committee to Advise on Matters of Social Responsibility for a three-year term starting immediately and ending June 30, 2018;

# [With respect to the Executive Committee]:

The reappointment of Mr. Sam Minzberg as a member of the Executive Committee for a three-year term starting July  $1^{st}$ , 2016 and ending June 30, 2019;

The appointment of **Mr. Peter Coughlin** as a member of the Executive Committee for a three-year term starting immediately and ending June 30, 2018;

The reappointment of **Mr. Thierry Vandal** as a member of the Executive Committee, for a one-year term starting July 1<sup>st</sup>, 2016 and ending June 30, 2017, to coincide with the end of his term on the Board of Governors;

# [With respect to the Finance Committee]:

The reappointment of **Mr. Thierry Vandal** as a member and Chair of the Finance Committee for a one-year term starting July 1<sup>st</sup>, 2016 and ending June 30, 2017, to coincide with the end of his term on the Board of Governors;

The reappointment of **Ms. Kathy Fazel** as a member of the Finance Committee for a two-year term starting July 1<sup>st</sup>, 2016 and ending June 30, 2018, to coincide with the end of her term on the Board of Governors;

The reappointment of Mr. Eric Rodier as a member of the general public on the

#### II. FOR THE INFORMATION OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

#### 1. Nominations to External Non-Board Bodies and Health Care Bodies [NG14-22]

#### 1.1 Nominations to External Non-Board Bodies

The Nominating, Governance and Ethics Committee, on the recommendation of the Provost and the Principal, approved the submission of nominations for possible three-year appointments to the boards of directors of John Abbott College and Dawson College, as determined by the Minister of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology, and as noted below:

- i) The nomination of Professor Anila Asghar (Faculty of Education) to the Board of Directors of Dawson College;
- ii) The nomination of Professor Nancy Lee Heath, (Faculty of Education) to the Board of Directors of Dawson College;
- iii) The nomination of Professor Jeffrey Derevensky (Faculty of Education) to the Board of Directors of John Abbott College;
- iv) The nomination of Professor Mark Brawley

presented to the NGE Committee in November, and following review Committee, proposed recommendations will be submitted to each Board review, prior to presenting recommendations to the Board of Governors.	by the NGE Committee for
t of the Nominating, Governance and Ethics Committee	Page 6